button donate
logo hh facebook twitter

 GuideStar image

ANS Annual Meeting 2015
Thursday, October 22, 6-9 p.m. at Woodend Sanctuary

Alonso Abugattas speakerPlease join us for our Annual Meeting, featuring Alonso Abugattas.  He is a locally well-known naturalist, storyteller, and blogger with over 25 years professional experience in environmental education. He has held several offices for the Potowmack Chapter of the Virginia Native Plant Society, including president. Alonso is a Virginia Master Naturalist and Master Gardener and serves as an instructor in both for several chapters, in a variety of natural history topics. He is the long-time Co-Chair for the Beltway Chapter of the National Association for Interpretation, the professional organization for naturalists, zookeepers, and museum docents, and is a Certified Heritage Interpreter through them. He is also a co-founder of the Washington Area Butterfly Club and is currently the Natural Resources Manager for Arlington County Parks, VA. Alonso has had numerous mentions in the press and media, including an appearance on Animal Planet, and continues to make presentations throughout the region. He invites you to check out his social media outlets where he posts regularly on natural history topics of the DC area. On Facebook checkout the “Capital Naturalist” or his YouTube Channel and Blog on blogspot.com by the same name. Or follow him on Twitter @CapNaturalist.

The theme of this year's annual meeting is 'Connecting Communities to Nature.'

The evening event will include recognition of volunteers and Natural History Field Studies graduates, and election of members to the ANS Board. Seasons will provide a light supper.

Please RSVP to this free event by contacting Carol Hayes (carol.hayes@anshome.org  or 301-652-9188 x10). Friends and family are welcome, too.

Members will vote on candidates for the Board of Directors at the Annual Meeting. An official notice including profiles of the Board candidates nominated by the Governance Committee and a proposed Bylaws and Articles of Incorporation update for the organization will be posted at www.ANShome.org/board after October 1. Click here to read profiles of the four new board candidates: Wendy Anderson, Alice EwanJane Davenport McClintock, and Rebecca Turner. In addition, Tim McTaggart and Bonnie VanDorn will stand for re-election.