button donate

Make a Difference

logo hh facebook twitter

 GuideStar image

Board of Directors


Lee Babcock, President
Leslie Catherwood, Vice President
Paul D'Andrea, Treasurer
Laura Stierle, Secretary


Val Broadie
Megan Carroll
Ann Fieldhouse
Maria Giovanni
Mike Gravitz
Jennifer Judd Hinrichs
Diane Hoffman
Timothy McTaggart
Patty O'Malley
Michael Trister
Bonnie VanDorn

Board Bios

2014 Classes

Final minutes can be found in Archives

BOARD ELECTIONS (to be voted on at the Annual Meeting on October 23, 2014)

The members up for re-election are:

  • Val Broadie
  • Leslie Catherwood
  • Paul D'Andrea
  • Mike Gravitz
  • Jennifer Hinrichs
  • Laura Stierle

Board Candidate Profiles

Allyn Finegold
Allyn Finegold is a native of Chevy Chase, MD and has close ties to ANS, where she was married in 2002 and where her daughter has enjoyed several summers of wonderful camp programs! Allyn has been a government consultant and senior policy analyst supporting environment and health programs for more  than 25 years. Most recently, Allyn joined SRA International, Inc.’s Health Programs Solutions Group as a senior manager leading programmatic and operations work under a federal contract related to the Affordable Care Act. Prior to this position, she was a Program Director within SRA’s Energy, Environment, and Organizational Performance Group, managing and directing a group of environmental policy analysts, scientists, and communications specialists and also engaging in strategic decision making and business development for the environmental group. The majority of Allyn’s environmental experience focuses on conducting program and policy analysis and project management with a primary focus on land revitalization, state environmental programs, and sustainable development of contaminated lands. Prior to joining SRA, Allyn was a Senior Policy Analyst with the National Governors’ Association, Natural Resources Policy Studies Division. Allyn currently serves on the Advisory Board of The Nature Generation, a 501(c)(3) environmental nonprofit organization with a focus on environmental stewardship and education. She has also served on the Advisory Board of the National Association of Local Government Environmental Professionals. Allyn has a Master’s degree in Public Administration from American University and a Bachelor’s degree in political science from Tufts University.

R. Scott Fosler
Scott Fosler is Senior Lecturer at the University of Maryland School of Public Policy. He was formerly president of the National Academy of Public Administration (NAPA), vice president of the Committee for Economic Development (CED), senior staff member of the Institute of Public Administration (IPA) of New York, and an executive in the U.S. Federal government. He has been a consultant to governments, businesses, nonprofit organizations, foundations and international institutions in North America, Latin America, Europe, Asia, and Africa. Fosler was elected to two terms on the County Council of Montgomery County, Maryland, where he also served as council president and president of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG). He was previously elected to the Town Council, and served as chair, of the Town of Chevy Chase, MD, where he continues to reside. He is currently on the boards of the Deschner Corporation, National Academy of Public Administration, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay, and Montgomery Countryside Alliance. Fosler’s publications include Governing the National Capital Region; Working Better Together: Achieving Public Purposes through Cross-Sector Collaboration; Demographic Change and the American Future; Public-Private Partnership in American Cities; The New Economic Role of American States; The Business Role in State Education Reform; and Urban Government for Valencia, Venezuela. He holds a B.A. from Dickinson College (Phi Beta Kappa) and an M.P.A. from the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University, and earned degree credits from study in Italy, Spain, and Norway.



return to top